Skip to main content

Managing users

Roles and permissions

The following roles can view or manage users:

  • Administrators can add or remove users, change a user's role, change a user's email address, and use the Activity Feed

    Note

    It's strongly recommended to have at least two administrators in your organization.

    Only administrators can invite users to Hyperproof and transfer work. If there is only one administrator, and they leave your organization, there will be no one designated to do these tasks.

  • Compliance managers can remove their user account from Hyperproof, view other users' information, and use the Activity Feed

  • Users can remove their user account from Hyperproof, view other users' information, and use the Activity Feed

  • Limited access users can remove their account from Hyperproof, and use the Activity Feed

As an administrator you can manage the users in your organization on the Settings > People page. From the People page, you can:

people.png

People page fields

Component / Field

Description

Active

Displays a list of users that are currently active and allows an administrator to perform actions on those users, such as changing a user role or deactivating a user.

Deactivated

Displays a list of users that are currently deactivated. Note that Hyperproof does not send notifications to deactivated users.

Deactivated users can be reactivated from this list.

+New

Invite users to your organization.

Import

Import a CSV file of users and then invite them to your organization.

Activity feed

activity-feed.png

Displays a log of changes to Hyperproof users. Use the Activity Feed to add a comment or send a specific user a message using an @mention. See Communicating via the Activity Feed.

User changes logged in the Activity Feed include:

  • User invitations sent, resent, canceled, or accepted

  • User deactivated or reactivated

  • User role changed

Name

Name of the Hyperproof user.

Email address

Email address of the Hyperproof user. This address is used to send notifications about events in Hyperproof. If your organization is not using Single Sign-on (SSO), the email address is the user's username when logging into Hyperproof.

Status

Indicates the user's current status in Hyperproof. Possible statuses include:

  • Active - A current user of Hyperproof.

  • Deactivated - The user has been deactivated and can no longer log in to Hyperproof.

  • Invited - The user has not responded to the invitation email and signed in to Hyperproof. The invitation is pending.

  • Contact - The user can respond to assignments to complete a task or upload proof but does not log directly into Hyperproof.

Role

User's role in Hyperproof.

Use the drop-down menu to select a new role for a user. Possible roles include:

  • Admin - Manages the organization, its compliance managers, and users. Administrators can create and join objects within the organization.

  • Compliance manager - Can create and manage new programs within an organization.

  • User - Can read and list objects within an organization.

  • Limited access user - Can read and list those objects where they are a member or have inherited membership within an organization. Limited access users can create work items and proof.

  • External auditor - Can only view the Proof and Audit tabs, and can only view proof when a request’s status is set to Submitted to auditor.

For more information on Roles, see Roles and permissions.

Last login

The last time the user successfully logged in to Hyperproof. This is a helpful field when conducting an access review of Hyperproof and determining whether or not to deactivate users who have not accessed Hyperproof in a long time.

See Automatically deactivate inactive users for more information.

Actions

Actions that can be performed on a user account, including:

  • Cancel - Cancel an invitation that has not been accepted.

  • Deactivate - Remove access to Hyperproof for the selected user.

  • Invite - Send an invitation to a Contact user and assign them a role that allows them to log in to Hyperproof.

  • Leave - Allows the logged-in user to deactivate their account and remove their access to Hyperproof.

  • Reactivate - Activate a user whose account was deactivated.

  • Reassign work - Transfer work assigned to a deactivated user to an active user.

    Note

    The Reassign work option displays when you deactivate a user but don't reassign work at the same time or if the user is automatically deactivated because they aren't active in the organization.

  • Resend - Resend an invitation that has not been accepted.